No shampoo-shampoo!

No Shampoo Shampoo- For The Love Of Expression

As most of you moms out there know one of the many “fun” things that happen postpartum is hair loss. For me it started around 4 months and is still happening. For those of you blessed with a full head of hair this may not be a big deal, but for a gal like me with fine hair it can be quite worrisome.  Recently I’ve seen a lot of articles about the whole “no shampoo-shampoo” trend. I figured it couldn’t hurt, and I already had everything at home that I would need. So I looked around on Pinterest to see what recipes people were using. Basically, you use a combination of baking soda and vinegar and you wash your hair every two to three days with it. This is the link I used in order to learn the method. Sonnet does a great job of explaining the process and why it works, so I won’t go into it. Also, those of you who may be thinking “vinegar, don’t you smell?” I would like to assure you that after over a week of using it I do not smell of vinegar. Trust me I am constantly asking my husband if I smell like salad dressing! After just one week I have noticed my hair is shinier and has more volume without any product. I am also hoping in time that it will help my hair grow back faster. Changing to this process also helped to further fulfill one of my 2014 goals to change out any cleaning or personal care products that aren’t natural. I’ll be writing another post soon about what I’ve been using to clean around my house.

What do you think? Would you try it?

~Whit

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “No shampoo-shampoo!

  1. […] as many products from store bought to homemade and natural. I’ve already switched to the No-Poo system for my hair, and I love it. This week I decided to make homemade peanut butter. I am one of […]

Leave a comment...