Homemade Peanut Butter

As some of you know, one of my 2014 goals was to change out as many products from store bought to homemade and natural. I’ve already switched to the No-Poo system for my hair, and I love it. This week I decided to make homemade peanut butter. I am one of those people who could literally live off PB and cereal, so refined I know. We typically buy Whole Foods PB, which only has two ingredients: peanuts and salt. I figured I should give it a try since I had everything I needed (food processor and peanuts.) I am so happy I did, it was ridiculously easy and quite tasty! Here’s how to make it.

Fill your food processor about half way.

Homemade Peanut Butter :: For The Love Of Expression

Pulse the peanuts until they start breaking down and sticking together. You will have to scrape down the sides periodically to ensure it is all being evenly ground. About halfway through it looks like this. The oils are starting to come out and make the pieces stick together.

Homemade Peanut Butter :: For The Love Of Expression

Keep pulsing and grinding until you get the consistency you like. If you like chunky peanut butter, I suggest grinding your peanuts smooth and then stir in chopped peanuts.
Homemade Peanut Butter :: For The Love Of Expression

And voila, you have peanut butter! At this point, you could add salt, honey, cocoa powder, anything that fits your fancy.  Then spoon the peanut butter into your favorite ball jar and store in the fridge.
Homemade Peanut Butter :: For The Love Of Expression

Give it a try, and let me know how you like it. I’ve been enjoying mine on toast and with apple slices. This process should work with just about any roasted nut; I plan to try almonds next!

~Whit

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Homemade Peanut Butter

  1. I just made hummus today and it was so much easier than I thought! This will be my next food processor adventure! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Zach Gembis says:

    Have you ever considered investing in a Vitamix? I know they are pricey, but oh are they amazing…..

    • We have been thinking about it for a while Zach. Especially since I’m making Harpers baby food as well.

      • Zach Gembis says:

        If you do decide to pull the trigger and you are members at Costco(or know someone who is), get it online there and include the dry canister. It saves about $100 if you want it instead of buying them separately in the warehouse.

      • Good to know! I would definitely want that dry canister as well because I want to grind grains for flour and what not.

Leave a comment...

