Potato Garlic Pizza

One of the things I miss the most about living in San Francisco is the
plethora of great restaurant choices. There were many Friday nights
Jon and I would either go out or order takeout. One of my favorites
for a quick bite was a little pizza joint that sold pizza by the
slice. I was craving their potato garlic pizza, so I decided to make
it myself. There is no red sauce in this recipe; the “sauce” is made
of whole garlic cloves, butter, olive oil, and parmesan cheese. Trust
me you won’t miss the red sauce. The original pizza didn’t have
spinach on it but I wanted to add some greens to mine. I was very
happy with how this turned out and will definitely be making it again.
I think next time I’ll blend up the spinach and garlic and add some
basil to make a pesto sauce! I may have to make it this weekend.
I’ll let you know if I do!

Garlic Potato Pizza ~ For The Love Of Expression

Potato Garlic Pizza

2 medium russet potatoes, parboiled and sliced into 1/4 inch rounds

2 tbsp unsalted butter

2 tbsp olive oil

garlic cloves, whole

baby spinach 10-12 ounces

TJ’s whole wheat pizza dough

1/2 cup parmesan cheese

1-2 ounces goat cheese

salt and pepper to taste

Cover potatoes with cool water and bring to a boil. Gently boil for
10-15 minutes. Take potatoes off the heat and place in cool water.
Once cool, thinly slice and set aside.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Meanwhile heat a large skillet on medium,
add butter and oil. Then add whole garlic cloves and stir for 1
minute, making sure not to brown them. Add spinach, stirring
frequently until wilted. Remove from skillet and set aside.

Roll out dough to 12 inch round. Spread garlic spinach mixture,
reserving remaining oil and butter. Sprinkle with half of the parmesan
cheese. Add potatoes in a single layer, drizzle with reserved oil and
butter. Sprinkle remaining parmesan on top and dot with goat cheese.
Salt and pepper to taste. Place on pan or hot pizza stone.

Bake for 10-15 minute until crust is browned and cheese is melted.

Place under broiler until cheese and potatoes are browned and bubbly, 5-10 minutes.

Sprinkle liberally with red pepper flakes and enjoy!

 

Garlic Potato Pizza ~ For The Love Of Expression

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment...

